A Word with You

I’ve never been much of a scrapbooker. That being said, if someone has one sitting out on their coffee table – it’s generally the first thing I pick up. There is something fascinating about recorded memories (stickers & construction paper on the other hand…somewhat outside of my wheelhouse…)

A couple of years ago, on our first double-date with the Bowdens, Courtney casually mentioned she was a blogger. Initially, I was completely baffled. Blogging was a foreign concept to me, and certainly not something anyone I knew did. But I was curious, so I started reading Courtney’s blog regularly (and you should too!) and her blog led me to other blogs. Very soon, I was hooked – I started regularly following my favorite online reads & supplementing my love of books with the internet’s never-ending stream of content.

And while I’m not much of a scrapbooker, I would (with much embarrassment) call myself a writer. Reading and writing have run like a thread throughout my life – drafting imaginary stories in elementary school, filling journals throughout middle and high school, and writing English paper after paper in college. It should have come as no surprise to me (although somehow it did) that here I am, as an adult, staring at a blinking cursor.

Writing has always been an outlet for me. Often times, writing is how I process things: I understand what I’m thinking only as I am writing it down. It has been a hobby, a prayer, a soapbox, a line in the stand, a testing ground, a memory- keeper, and obviously, a place to air all my good comedic material.

And yet, in the midst of all this goodness, I too – like any other self-proclaimed writer – suffer from the occasional writer’s block. Since, as Sean could tell you, I am never short on words, my problem lies more in the realm of motivation.  The great thing about a blog, is that there is always a level of built-in accountability – an audience (hi Mom!) reading what you write. Since my blog is for fun – the main audience I’m writing for consists of me and Sean – it’s easy for a couple of weeks to go by spent actually living our lives instead of posting about them. Often, what I need here is a goal or a deadline to jump-start my post-writing. I find when I make a commitment to post something, I am much more likely to actually do it. Thankfully, I’m not the only one who struggles with the push-pull of wanting to write, but needing a little help to make it happen. So Courtney and I have formed an idea to help motivate each other to set aside the time and start writing.

Introducing:

Print

Each month we will pick a word to write about & share a story from our lives. Our aim is to make sure we make time to record all the little things that fill our days, that otherwise might go undocumented. If you have a blog (or even if you don’t), we would love for you write with us each month and join in!

our word for January is :: Direction

There are no rules, just write something that ties in with this month’s word in some way. On Monday, January 28th, we will share our posts and include a link up so that you can share your post with us too. I’m looking forward to it!

Feel free to spread “the word” on twitter & instagram :: #awordwithyou

5 thoughts on “A Word with You

Something you said...

