When Influence is a Paradox

I left the Influence Conference last weekend tired, full of ideas and with a page-long to-do list. But I think my biggest take-away from the weekend is a paradox – A heart adjustment that left me feeling full instead of overwhelmed.

It takes strength to extend influence – a strength that I don’t have on my own.

Emily told me I could call myself an artist.

Amanda and Darcy called me a writer.

My husband reminded me that he loved my blog no matter what before I left for the weekend.

And also…

Casey talked about reaching my limits.

Jami challenged me to share out of my mess.

And Emily said, “Art is for you. Right now. Small and broken.”

All weekend, I was encouraged and confronted. I have something to give. But I also have a lot of junk.

Session after session, I was reminded of grace.

Despite my failings and insecurities, even in the midst of them – God is working to redeem. Always.

I can rest in who I am and the amount I have to give. But even more, I can rest in grace and the amount, quite simply, He already gave.

It takes strength to extend influence – a strength that I don’t have on my own.

{Originally posted on pure&simple}

Something you said...

