New Routines

Around this time of year, we all start to make a lot of promises to ourselves. It’s a new time of year – a time to start something new – a time to start fresh. But around here, we believe in trying new things all the time. So rather than make a bunch of resolutions that I may or may not be paying attention to in a month, I wanted to commit to write more often about the new things we are up to, because I want to preserve our memories – no matter how small.

With all the changes in our life recently, this month I want to write about our…

This past week was my first week back to work. I typically handle regular schedules with less poise and a bit of dramatic flair. I tend to set my alarm clock as late as possible. I tend to make endless promises to myself (and my husband) about packing my lunch, and never actually succeed in doing so. And I tend to try on multiple outfits, leave minimal time for hair and makeup, and overlook key parts of the process such as deodorant application. In a phrase: Most mornings I am operating in what my mom has termed “Urgent Mode” (a phrase coined just for me, thank you very much).

New year, new job, new leaf. I have made a series of commitments to myself, and the first week has gone very well. I want our morning routine to look a bit more like this:

1. We pack our lunches the night before.

2. I pick out my clothes the night before (Sean is already doing this). I will have more than enough time to think things through at night. I will not change my mind in the morning.

3. We will pick a consistent wake-up time that gives us enough time to get ready, eat breakfast, and spend some time reading the Bible before heading out for the day.

Sean has always been responsible about getting all his stuff together the night before. I have watched him (well, most of the time I’ve been asleep) He has informed me of morning after morning of stress-free time before heading off to work. And, most of the time he has had a lunch to eat during the day. I should have followed his example before now, but “Urgent Mode” has been comfortably chaotic.

I wonder how we get ourselves into that place – where chaos is comfortable and planning seems like it would take too much energy?

I threatened to fall back into my old ways a few days this week. I was almost too tired to do anything the night before, and there were a few times that I wanted to try on a different outfit than I had laid out the night before. In favor of the new routine, I decided to stick to it – I made my lunch and I stuck with the clothes I had planned on. If the outfit was weird I figured I could always be “the new girl at work with the crazy outfits.”

As a result, this week my mornings were calmer, more orderly, and less rushed. I had time to do everything and get where I needed to go on time. My husband was also properly fed during the day – and you can’t ask for more than that.

I am hoping that this new plan will decrease the urgent and increase the peace. I hope that the time we spend preparing our stuff and our hearts, will leave us more ready for the day ahead, and for the good we have to do in it.

11 thoughts on “New Routines

  1. Jessica Zigenis

    About a year ago, I decided to start getting up ridiculously early (I used to be in panic mode every morning just like you!). I now get up around 5 or 5:30, sit with my Bible and my coffee for 30-40 min., then I work out for 30ish minutes to a video, and then I get ready with plenty of time to make it to work. I know not everyone can enjoy getting up that early, but I’m a morning person so it works for me. I also pack my lunch and prep/time my coffee every single night. It sucks and takes time to get used to, but you know what? We not only save boat loads of money by packing lunches, but my mornings are a time of peace. I can’t even explain how much better my day goes because it starts out “being still” with God and not rushing. I don’t miss sleeping in at all, and on the rare days that I do sleep and miss my usual routine, I miss it dearly. Good for you girl! I can’t wait to hear how it impacts your life.

    Reply
    1. Meg Post author

      Thanks for the encouragement girl! I am impressed that you not only have a quiet time, but work out too! You are a super star! And I agree about the packing lunches – saves time and money – what could be better?

      Reply
  2. Cristie

    So proud of you Meg! Hope the new job is going well; I can’t wait to hear about it! Love you and miss you lots!

    Reply
  3. Gabby

    Didnt Sean accidentally take Cheesecake for lunch to work one day last month? Now THATS a memory worth preserving ; )

    Reply
  4. Courtney

    Good for you!…I wish I could get better at a morning routine. I feel like I’m always sleeping as late as humanly possible- and then another five minutes after that. Piper is changing all that of course, but we still have a lot of work to do when it comes to getting into a routine. I’m scared of the day where it actually matters if I’m still in my pj’s at noon.

    Reply
  5. Alie

    Just caught up on your blog—congrats on the job!! Hope you’re enjoying it, and making lunches:). Let us know if you’re ever in NYC!

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Rebel Without a Cause…or How I Got Kicked Off the Bus This Morning « Our Something New

  7. Pingback: Cristie’s Engagement Party « Our Something New

  8. Pingback: Best of 2012 « Our Something New

Something you said...

