My Sweet Friend

Yesterday this book arrived at my house:

Bittersweet, book about change, changeThe book is a birthday present from my best friend Kelly, as well as further proof that she is an extremely thoughtful friend. The subtitle of the book is “Thoughts on change, grace, and learning the hard way.” I believe that friends are supposed to tell you what you need to hear, and heaven knows I can use all the thoughts on transition and hard lessons that I can get right now.

Kelly (or Kelizzle as I’ve been known to call her – a nickname I devised in a supremely awkward moment of our past together) and I have been friends since elementary school. It has been a friendship that has seen me through most of my growing-up. Kell has been there for most of the bittersweet changes that I’ve gone through and despite different schools, cities, and phases of life, we’ve managed to stay close.

Of course it hasn’t all been sunshine –  There was the epic battle we had over whether Mac and Cheese should be made with butter or margarine – And the hours we spent in middle school fighting over AIM (our dads still have nightmares about the frantic pace of our fingers on the keyboards) – but somehow we’ve managed to preserve a friendship.

Last year, Kelly started med school and we are learning that staying close doesn’t mean frequent visits and lengthy phone conversations. Instead, we are connecting in the small things – emailing verses, sending quick texts: “Pray for my rough week,” and touching base throughout the day on gchat (which makes me laugh remembering our track record on internet conversation – perhaps Google products are superior at producing positive interactions? Or maybe we’ve just grown older and nicer since middle school?)

Kelly teaches me how to have fun and embrace the silly. She pursues her friends, loves Carrie Bradshaw as much as I do (although maybe Charlotte York just a bit more), and has a kind and thoughtful spirit. She is one of those people who has style through and through. She always extends me grace and always cheers me on. I am so grateful that we’ve been friends so long and for her encouragement right when I need it.

I love you Kelizzle! Thanks for the book. I can’t wait to start reading it. Let’s both go home over Christmas k?

5 thoughts on “My Sweet Friend

  1. Jessica Zigenis

    My friend was telling me about the prequel to this book! I really want to read them both.

    ps. I live in Oregon, and I used to live in Portland specifically, so hipster everything is everywhere! haha A hipster tree would be ugly enough to supposedly be ironic and funny. The hipster would get it to say “see I don’t really care about my ironically ugly tree which makes it different and unique” without realizing that every other hipster in Oregon has the same ugly tree. IE: anything from Urban Outfitters. In fact, I think they sell Charlie Brown trees to this effect. So ridiculous. haha

    Reply
    1. Meg Post author

      hahaha That’s awesome. And I saw that tree yesterday at Urban. Also, I love the hipster paper dolls. Like for reals. In love.

      Reply

Something you said...

