Tutorial: Coffee Filter Wreath

I made something fun for our front door a couple of weeks ago that I wanted to share.

coffee filter wreath, easy tutorial, fall wreath, fall project, tutorial, wreath

I had seen pictures of these coffee filter wreaths online a couple of times, and wanted to make one of my own for the fall. I kind of made things up as I went along, but if you’d like the how-to…here’s what I did.

  1. I bought a styrofoam wreath ring and some natural-colored coffee filters. I bought a package of 200 and I have more than enough left-over. I went with the natural brown color, because it reminded me more of fall. I bet this wreath would look beautiful for winter if you used white filters!coffee filter wreath, easy tutorial, fall wreath, fall project, tutorial, wreath
  2. Using your glue gun, cover up the styrofoam with the coffee filters. This doesn’t have to be neat – just make sure you can’t see any of the white ring. I flattened out the coffee filters and then wrapped them around, as best I could. I even ripped them a bit, if I needed to, so they fit how I wanted them.coffee filter wreath, easy tutorial, fall wreath, fall project, tutorial, wreath
  3. To make the poofs, first – flatten out a coffee filter. Then, fold it in half three times.coffee filter wreath, easy tutorial, fall wreath, fall project, tutorial, wreath
  4. Snip off the bottom triangle of the coffee filter. You can adjust how much you cut off based on how high you want the poofs to sit on the wreath.
  5. I started with the wreath laying flat on its back and glued poofs all around the circle. I tried to alternate how they were laying on the wreath so that it didn’t look too perfect (not that any of my crafting comes out looking perfect!). Then I glued along the inside and outside of the wreath. I made sure to fill in any holes or awkward-looking spots with extra poofs! Don’t be afraid to shuffle things around until you like how it looks – Glue guns are great smooshing tools! (That’s some professional language there – try not to be intimidated).
  6. I hot glued a loop of twine to the back of mine to hang it up. (You could also use a pretty piece of ribbon if you wanted to dress it up a bit). Be generous with the glue so that your hook doesn’t come apart. Let the glue dry completely before you try to hang it up. coffee filter wreath, easy tutorial, fall wreath, fall project, tutorial, wreath
8 thoughts on “Tutorial: Coffee Filter Wreath

Something you said...

