Like a Cool Drink of Water

Two weekends ago was, in one word, refreshing.

Sean and I road-tripped to Virginia (one of our favorite states, for no particular reason, except that it has seemed lovely every time we have chanced to visit) for the wedding of one of Sean’s dearest friends (and mine if we want to add another sentence in parentheses).

As Sean mockingly pointed out throughout the weekend, I failed to make a packing list and therefore, forgot to pack my camera, among other things. Sean’s mocking stopped when he realized that his beloved packing list had failed him and he had forgotten his toothbrush.

All that to say, I have 0 photos but plenty of happy memories.

It was a blessing to be around so many of our favorite people. We laughed a lot…made bad jokes…stayed up late…ate way too much…and partied our booties off. Also, Sean gave a hilarious and tearful toast at the wedding.

Dan and Lara’s wedding was wonderful for many reasons, but the ceremony pretty much takes the cake in my book. Here are some words that rocked me to my core, restored and refreshed me.

In Christ Alone:

In Christ alone my hope is found,
He is my light, my strength, my song;
this Cornerstone, this solid Ground,
firm through the fiercest drought and storm.
What heights of love, what depths of peace,
when fears are stilled, when strivings cease!
My Comforter, my All in All,
here in the love of Christ I stand.

In Christ alone! who took on flesh
Fulness of God in helpless babe!
This gift of love and righteousness
Scorned by the ones he came to save:
Till on that cross as Jesus died,
The wrath of God was satisfied –
For every sin on Him was laid;
Here in the death of Christ I live.

There in the ground His body lay
Light of the world by darkness slain:
Then bursting forth in glorious Day
Up from the grave he rose again!
And as He stands in victory
Sin’s curse has lost its grip on me,
For I am His and He is mine –
Bought with the precious blood of Christ.

No guilt in life, no fear in death,
This is the power of Christ in me;
From life’s first cry to final breath.
Jesus commands my destiny.
No power of hell, no scheme of man,
Can ever pluck me from His hand;
Till He returns or calls me home,
Here in the power of Christ I’ll stand.

Before the Throne of God Above:

Before the throne of God above
I have a strong, a perfect plea:
A great High Priest, whose name is Love,
Who ever lives and pleads for me.

My name is graven on his hands,
My name is written on his heart;
I know that while in heaven he stands
No tongue can bid me thence depart
No tongue can bid me thence depart.

When Satan tempts me to despair,
And tells me of the guilt within,
Upward I look, and see him there
Who made an end of all my sin.

Because a sinless Savior died,
My sinful soul is counted free;
For God, the Just, is satisfied
To look on Him and pardon me
To look on Him and pardon me

Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Praise the One,
Risen Son of God!

Behold him there, the risen Lamb
My perfect, spotless righteousness,
The great unchangeable I am,
The King of glory and of grace!

One in himself, I cannot die
My soul is purchased by his blood
My life is hid with Christ on high,
With Christ, my Savior and my God
With Christ, my Savior and my God

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“The mystery is this: On the one hand this is a person who is utterly unlike you, utterly different: thinks differently, operates differently and in some cases it’s frustrating and in many cases it’s scary, and sometimes it’s downright incomprehensible. But on the other hand, at a deeper, deeper level, I’m finding who I really am. This is my other half. This is my completion. This is me.”   -Timothy Keller, “Marriage as Completion

“Keeping covenant with our spouse is as important as telling the truth about God’s covenant with us in Jesus Christ. Marriage is not mainly about being or staying in love. It’s mainly about telling the truth with our lives. It’s about portraying something true about Jesus Christ and the way he relates to his people. It is about showing in real life the glory of the gospel. Jesus died for sinners. He forged a covenant in the heat of his suffering in our place. He made an imperfect bride his own with the price of his own blood and covered her with the garments of his own righteousness. He said “I am with you to the end of the age. I will never leave you nor forsake you.” Marriage is meant by God to put that gospel reality on display in the world. That is why we are married.”   -John Piper, This Momentary Marriage

It was so good to worship and to remember how deeply I am loved.

Dan and Lara, as weddings ought to do, yours reminded us why we are married, of the importance of covenant-keeping, and about the strength of the Lord’s love. We are honored and thankful to have been part of your special day. We are praying for you always.

 

4 thoughts on “Like a Cool Drink of Water

  1. ali

    Megan, you are so sweet. I love you so much! Wish that my visits with you weren’t limited to a few times a year now a days…maybe sometime in the next few years that will change! We could even be neighbors and borrow sugar from each other 🙂 That would be nice.

    Reply
  2. Megan Knight

    Hi Meg!
    Those two songs are two of my favorites! Chris and I lead worship for our bible study and those are ones we often choose!

    Your blog is beautiful 🙂
    ~Meg K

    Reply
  3. Tay

    Hey there! I just found your blog and I have to say that I am already in love…with your blog! 🙂 Thank you for being so amazing! I look forward to enjoying more amazing stuff here.

    I thank my God every time I remember you. (Philippians 1:3 NIV)

    Lots of love, Tay

    Reply

Something you said...

