Every Teacher Needs a Chalkboard

Because we live in an apartment, we have been very limited in the changes we’ve been able to make to our home’s aesthetics. We aren’t really supposed to paint our walls and it doesn’t really seem worth it to invest a lot of time and money into furnishing an apartment we don’t own. Despite the lack of decor – we really love our place and one of our favorite parts is how big the kitchen is. The only drawback to the large kitchen is that this has also meant some fairly large blank walls. We decided we wanted to spruce up our sad, bland walls (ok, I wanted – Sean was more forcefully recruited), but we weren’t quite sure what to do. I’ve been looking for giant pictures to fill all that space for over a year with no real luck.

But, a few weeks ago, all my dreams came true when I discovered a genius invention – vinyl chalkboard!

The vinyl works just like chalkboard paint. It is sold in strips (we found ours at a craft store) and has a sticky backing that goes right up on the wall…and peels off just as easily! Putting it up is a solid two-person job, but it didn’t take us more than an hour to make sure it was hung straight and just where we wanted it.

We bought just enough to make a stripe in the center of one of our kitchen walls and are quite happy with the finished result:

(When you do put up your own chalkboard wall…try not to kick it off with a massive typo – sorry for pointing it out if you didn’t notice on your own!…We obviously didn’t!)

For under an hour and under $20 we had a chalkboard that we could write on right away without waiting for paint to dry!

I’m in love.

14 thoughts on “Every Teacher Needs a Chalkboard

  1. Kim Read

    Looks awesome! Love the idea and didn’t even know they made such a thing! But what’s a “STONG tower”? 🙂

    PS: Can we get together soon, considering we’re only a few streets away from each other?!

    Reply
  2. Anna

    This wall is unbelievably satisfying. I can only imagine how wonderful it is to live with it. I LOVE it. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Alexia

    Hey there! I just started checking out your blog, and I love what I’ve read so far. My only issue is that I can’t seem to find a button on your page where I can add myself as a follower! Maybe it’s there but I haven’t seen it. Lol.

    Many blessings dear sis in Christ!

    ~Alexia
    princessofgod777.blogspot.com

    Reply
    1. Meg Post author

      Thanks Alexia! You can subscribe either by clicking on the first pink button under our picture (the one with two curved lines and a dot) or through email at the bottom. Let me know if you have any luck!

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Nesting « Our Something New

Something you said...

