It’s not all about me.

There are times in my life when it is simply apparent that God is at work sanctifying me. This is always true – but sometimes this is easier to see than at other times.

I see my sin. I see my doubt. I see my lack of faith.

I can acknowledge the Lord’s grace at work in my life. I can see the steps of obedience that I need to take.

And then there are those sweet moments when I see the fruit of His work in my life.

“For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus.” – Philippians 1:6

That’s not always the case though. Sometimes God is at work and although I have the truth of this verse to hold on to, I’m not completely sure what he’s up to.

Sometimes I turn around and look for…

…what am I learning through this?

…how is God at work in my life?

…and sometimes (eek)…what’s in this for me?

But here’s something I’ve noticed a lot now that I have become an ‘us’… sometimes while I’m all busy wondering how all the pieces fit together for me I realize that God has used all those pieces to grow us.

Somewhere along the way…

…we approached our marriage with a little more humility

…we learned to love each other better

…we felt His grace a little deeper

“For this reason a man shall leave his father and mother, and be joined to his wife; and they shall become one flesh.” – Genesis 2:24


 

The real truth and goodness of it all is that in the end it’s never really all about me.

In fact, it’s not really about us either…

Although by His grace, He does use the circumstances in our lives to grow us independently and together…

“Help us, O God of our salvation, for the glory of Your name; And deliver us and forgive our sins for Your name’s sake.” – Psalm 79:9

One thought on “It’s not all about me.

  1. Robin

    Meg- Thanks for the reminder this morning that it IS all about our Heavenly Father–our Creator, our Redeemer, our Friend.
    Love,
    Mom

    Reply

Something you said...

