Moments of Shame & Some Words of Encouragement

I know that you’d all like to start off with the moments of shame portion of the post…so let’s jump right in…

  1. Moment of Shame #1 – This past weekend, Sean and I visited the local cowboy dance club (What?) and I decided my life would not be complete unless I hopped on the mechanical bull. This was probably a vast miscalculation. Please visit Courtney’s blog to see a ridiculous picture of me as well as a shameless video. Please be warned: the giant, expressionless man stationed behind the bull’s control panel had absolutely no sense of decency.
  2. Moment of Shame #2 occurred in my dance class this past Saturday. About 15 minutes into class – my ballet instructor had had quite enough of my thorough inattention to arm position and punished me. She stopped class and asked me to retrieve my water bottle from the back of the room. Confused, and wondering if I had just started to look extremely winded, I obeyed. She then forced me to hold my water bottle for the remainder of the class (there was over an hour left). I was billed for the rest of the class as ‘an example to the rest of you’.

In truth, while both events were semi-humiliating – they were also pretty hilarious…please laugh at my expense.

On a completely different note…I wanted to share some words that have been extremely encouraging to me lately.

“Many plans are in a man’s heart, but the counsel of the Lord will stand.” – Proverbs 19:21

“They praised the Lord because the foundation of the house of the Lord was laid” – Ezra 3:11

“The king is not saved by a mighty army; a warrior is not delivered by great strength. A horse is a false hope for victory; nor does it deliver anyone by its great strength. Behold, the eye of the Lord is on those who fear Him; on those who hope for His lovingkindness, to deliver their soul from death and to keep them alive in famine. Our soul waits for the Lord; He is our help and our shield. For our heart rejoices in Him, because we trust in His holy name. Let your lovingkindness, O Lord, be upon us, according as we have hoped in You.” Psalm 33:16-22

“For not by might shall a man prevail.” 1 Samuel 2:9b

“The name of the Lord is a strong tower; the righteous runs into it and is safe.” – Proverbs 18:10

I pray that I would praise when the foundation has been laid. When I can’t see the path laid out clearly before me. That I would trust in the God who has the power and love to deliver me into His good will for me and my family. I pray that we would be people of faith. People who trust in our strong tower instead of the work of our hands and the plans of our hearts.

4 thoughts on “Moments of Shame & Some Words of Encouragement

  1. Alie

    1. I feel like your dance teacher isn’t very nice. Goodness!
    2. The cowboy club video made me miss America big time.

    Great post!

    Reply
  2. Tommy

    You are a quite the cowgirl! If you ever make it down to Houston, I’ll take you to a place where you can get a rematch with the bull! I have some pretty good skills myself…

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Some things (that are) New « Our Something New

  4. Pingback: Best of 2011 « Our Something New

Something you said...

