Steel City Peppermint Patties

As I was reading one of my favorite blogs a couple of days ago, I found this post about how to make homemade peppermint patties. I was instantly inspired, as these are one of Sean’s favorite candies.

She found the original recipe here and I was able to make some very successful (and easy) peppermints by blending the advice given on both sites.

{A few tips I found helpful}

  • Roll the mix into 1-in balls and place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Flatten with the back of a metal spatula.
  • Stick the patties in the freezer instead of the fridge while they are setting. They freeze quickly and are ready to dip in the chocolate in about 1-2 hours.
  • Use 4-5 large squares of baking chocolate (+ a couple of tablespoons of shortening) instead of chocolate chips. The chocolate was the perfect consistency to dip the patties in.
  • Take the chocolate off of the heat while you are dipping the chocolate. Reset it on the burner as needed to keep the chocolate the correct consistency.
  • Use a flat utensil to flip the patties over once and to lift them out of the chocolate while you are dipping (I used a fork and it worked great)
  • Dip, flip, and remove from heat quickly! Place back on the parchment paper lined cookie sheet.
  • Use restraint – these are YUM!

And because ‘Everything I do, I do it big‘….

I decided to make our peppermint patties ‘Black and Yellow’ in celebration of the big game today!

Go Steelers!

4 thoughts on “Steel City Peppermint Patties

  1. Alison

    Hi! This is Alison with aPearantly Sew. I didn’t see any contact info. to e-mail you, but I just wanted to let you know that you won the $35 credit to my shop on the Gussy Sews Giveaway. Congratulations! Please e-mail me at aclittle28@gmail.com & let me know how you would like to use your credit. Thanks!

    Reply

Something you said...

