Freshly Baked Bread

Some of the most fun wedding presents are the gadgets…

Sean had the day off due to snow last week, so we decided to test out one of our gadgets and put our bread maker to good use.

My grandma is queen of kitchen gadgets. When I was younger I used to love going to my grandma’s house on the day she was making bread. The smell would waft towards you as soon as you walked through the door. We used to love helping her pour in the ingredients and then we’d sit in front of it while the tiny pedal mixed the dough around and around. It was always delicious when it came out – delicious, and full of the pleasing knowledge that we had made it from scratch.

We made a simple loaf of white bread. Despite the fact that I substituted a few of the ingredients, it tasted pretty good.

For Christmas this year, my cousin gave me this beautiful book…

My cousin Nathan, who I affectionately refer to as ‘my cousin who is good at everything,’ is already well on his way to expert baker status. I definitely have some catching up to do.

The book starts with about 50 pages of how-to’s before it gives you a single recipe (apparently baking bread is no easy task). It’s full of amazing pictures and recipes for bread from all over the world. It also encourages me to build a clay oven in my backyard.

I pretty much can’t wait.

“I would say to housewives, be not daunted by one failure, nor by twenty. Resolve that you will have good bread, and never cease striving after this result till you have effected it. If persons without brains can accomplish this, why cannot you?”

–’Housekeeping In Old Virginia’ Marion Cabell Tyree ed. (1878)

4 thoughts on “Freshly Baked Bread

  1. Mike

    That looks delicious! So you just put the ingredients into the bread maker and it mixes it and bakes it? When we bought our house, the people before us left a bread maker and we’ve never used it…maybe we will have to try!

    Reply

Something you said...

