Soup

Tonight our church hosted a study night for all the college students after the last service. One of the ladies from our church brought soup for the potluck. After dropping off her crock-pot she pulled me aside and handed me a jar of soup. She had thought of me and set some aside for me to take home.

I started crying when she handed it to me.

I choked my random tears back, thanked her, and gave her a big hug.

Needless to say, we were both a little startled by my response.

I thought about it and realized two things.

1. It has been a crazy couple of weeks. Work has been busy as well as our schedules. But it hasn’t just been that. I’ve been running at a frantic pace – cleaning the house, running errands, decorating every inch of the apartment, making to-do lists for my free time, shopping for presents, and reminding myself of all the things I haven’t done yet. No one can sustain this pace for long… And so when someone hands you a jar of soup just because they care…you might start to cry.

2. I realized in that moment how much I love making dinner for Sean, taking care of around-the-house things (except maybe cleaning bathrooms), making the house look pretty, etc…and for the past couple of weeks I haven’t really been able to do much of anything very well. Grocery shopping hasn’t happened often enough, dinner has been eaten out – rather than in, and I have been home less than I have been elsewhere. So really, she wasn’t just handing me a jar of soup, she was giving me a small way to provide for and show love to Sean.

See why I need to show love to my poor husband??…With all my emotional gymnastics…I can even make a jar of soup complex…

Something you said...

