Happy Belated Thanksgiving

I am choosing to ignore the fact that Christmas is almost here and post about our Thanksgiving. Real life is busy, so I am posting this as if I got around to it in November instead of half-way through December.

This year we spent Thanksgiving at my parents’ house. As newlyweds, this was the start of the second round of holidays split between my family and Sean’s. It’s been new territory and definitely emotional at points (mainly on my end)…but incorporating a new set of traditions for each holiday has also been kind of exciting for both Sean and me. I found myself missing the 4 different kinds of cranberry relish that Sean’s family had on the Thanksgiving table last year…not to mention a whole new extension of my family!

We had a wonderful weekend at my parents’. We got to spend lots of time with my entire immediate family – it had been almost an entire year since all 6 of us were in the same place! We also spent time with my grandparents, my dad’s brother’s family, and Cristie’s boyfriend Josh. I hadn’t seen my cousins in a while so this was a huge blessing. Last year was the first year that my cousin Nathan and I hadn’t sat next to each other for Thanksgiving dinner so it was a necessity this year. We graciously allowed Sean a reserved seat next to ours.

Deep-frying the Thanksgiving turkey has become a tradition in our family – my uncle shows off his skills with the fryer, we all spend the majority of the morning standing in the garage chatting, and my mom has the oven all to herself.

The table was beautiful, the food was delicious, and it was great to be able to spend so much time with my family. On the way home from their house, Sean and I spent half of the car ride home remembering all the good things we have been given this year – thanking God for all our blessings. At the top of that list are the Lord’s goodness to us, visits like this with our loving families, and another year of marriage.

…and pie may have slipped in there…

Happy Belated Thanksgiving!

“Shout for joy to the LORD, all the earth. Worship the LORD with gladness; come before him with joyful songs. Know that the LORD is God. It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, the sheep of his pasture. Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise; give thanks to him and praise his name. For the LORD is good and his love endures forever; his faithfulness continues through all generations.” Psalm 100

5 thoughts on “Happy Belated Thanksgiving

  1. Pingback: 2010: Year End Review « Something New

Something you said...

