Portion

Yesterday, we sang these words in church:

‘I believe that you’re my portion. I believe that you are all I need.’

I’ve been thinking about these words a lot today. I often live my life as if I’m singing: ‘I believe that I am all I need.’ I’m independent, I have things under control, I can handle it all on my own, Kelly Clarkson writes anthems for my life, etc…

All this got me thinking about the word portion.

When I substitute I for you, I think it’s kind of like Chicken on a Stick.

Did I lose you?

This weekend Sean and I went to the Canfield Fair with my family. Our joint purposes for the day were to spend time together and to eat as much food as we could handle. All day we were bombarded with signs for Fried Cheese! Giant Snow Cones! Jumbo French Fries! (check, check, check) and we were more than happy to step right up and take them up on these offers.

The problem with all of these literal food choices (ie. Chicken on a Stick) is, quite simply, it’s junk. Chicken on a Stick sounds good – sure I like chicken, I like eating things on sticks (I’m an American) – I’ll have two please. But no matter how good or easy it sounds – it’s junk. If I ate fair food day after day I’d end up an unhealthy mess. My life would be out of balance and I would end up facing some serious consequences. Fair food may taste good in the moment, but it lacks the richness of food that is wholesome, rich, and truly filling.

So back to this word portion. It seems I have two options.

God is my portion…

or something else is…

…I can choose to draw from a portion that is rich with goodness, that will truly sustain and fill me up…

…or I can choose to draw from a portion that is only temporarily satisfying and incapable of sustaining me.

Seems like a simple choice. But I eat Chicken on a Stick a lot.

“Whom have I in heaven but You? And besides You, I desire nothing on earth. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” Psalm 73:25,26


One thought on “Portion

  1. Pingback: Gone Country « Our Something New

Something you said...

