Re-Work

Most days, I love my job. I like the work that I do, and I like working hard (with some chit-chat in between) to get it done. I like when my days are filled up – full of people and things to do, and when I get to cross lots of things off on my to-do list. Today was one of those days.

But when you walk in the door at 7:30pm…there’s a moment when you realize that something went wrong. Maybe I lost track of time…or maybe I lost track of my priorities, my boundaries, and the fact that I have a husband at home to spend time with.

I thought a lot about work while I was in Nicaragua. As is clear from my behavior today, the Lord has lots about my attitude towards work to ‘re-work’. Here are some of the verses that the Lord brought to mind while I was away:

He causes the grass to grow for the cattle, and vegetation for the labor of man, so that he may bring forth food from the earth.” Psalm 104:14

“The LORD said to Abram, after Lot had separated from him, ‘Now lift up your eyes and look from the place where you are, northward and southward and eastward and westward; for all the land which you see, I will give it to you and to your descendants forever. I will make your descendants as the dust of the earth, so that if anyone can number the dust of the earth, then your descendants can also be numbered. Arise, walk about the land through its length and breadth; for I will give it to you.’ Then Abram moved his tent and came and dwelt by the oaks of Mamre, which are in Hebron, and there he built an altar to the LORD.” Genesis 13:14-18

Not by might shall a man prevail.” 1 Samuel 2:9

I love the first verse. What a powerful reminder that while I work, it’s God who causes my work to bear fruit. Apart from him, our plants would never grow, and my work is in vain. May I never say, ‘The work of my hands accomplished this.’

Abraham – what a powerful example. What is his response when God blesses Him? He builds an altar – essentially saying ‘Lord, what you have given me, I give back to you.’ May I offer up my work, my marriage, and my days with this same heart.

I can work knowing that it is the Lord’s strength that will prevail – not my own. May I rely on him daily and be thankful.

Something you said...

