Little Munchkin

As I said last night…I started my first project for Home Ec – the online sewing class I am taking. Our first assignment was to make a set of cloth napkins. Sounds easy enough…

Wednesday evening: Sean is having a ‘man night’ with the guys we went to Nicaragua with. I decide it is the perfect opportunity for me to get some shopping done for my first sewing project. Here’s how my night looked:

  • 7:00 – Decide to go shopping.
  • 7:45 – Having spent almost an hour browsing the class website aimlessly, adapting a supply list (that was already made for me! why do I do these things?), and wrestling with my computer, I finally leave the house.
  • 8:30 – Although I left the house with the full intention of going to the craft store, I somehow manage to spend plenty of time running unnecessary errands elsewhere.
  • 8:40 – Arrive at the craft store 20 minutes before they close. I spend the next 20 minutes dashing through aisles and throwing items in my cart at random. Unable to find the cotton section (largest section in the store), I instead find one row of linen and decide that ‘everyone is always talking about linen napkins anyways’.
  • 9:15 – Arrive home, decide it is probably too late to start a project and watch ‘So You Think You Can Dance’ for a couple of hours.

Friday evening – Since returning from the craft store on Wednesday, I have discovered that while I managed to buy a variety of fun sewing tools, I managed to forget to buy a number of ones that were specific and necessary for my first project. I decide that Sean should accompany me to correct this issue, and drag him along back to the store.

  • 8:40 – Somehow I end up back at the store exactly 20 minutes before closing time once again. I spend the next 20 minutes dragging Sean from aisle to aisle trying to get his opinion on rotary cutters and marking pencils. I then discover the gigantic cotton section and spend far too much time there wandering around before I realize that the store is closing and I still haven’t gotten any of the things I came there for.
  • 9:15 – I arrive at home and decide that I probably don’t have enough time to start a craft project. I also decide that my husband is great for putting up with my antics.

Saturday evening: Sean heads to a friend’s house to watch some football. I opt to stay home and start my project finally!

  • 9:00 – Post blog entry about beginning the project.
  • 9:05 – Realize that I should have pre-washed my fabrics. Put them in the washing machine.
  • 9:15 – Realize that I still do not know how to operate my machine on a very basic level. Spend the next 45 minutes reading the manual, watching a how-to video, and struggling with things beginners struggle with. Majority of time spent negotiating with my bobbin. Bobbin: Please load me correctly or I will break/make strange noises at you. Megan: Bobbin, please learn to load yourself, it might make things easier on both of us.
  • 10:00 – On my way to retrieve my laundry (in a frenzy), trip over the sewing machine cord, unplug it from the wall, and land on my face.
  • 10:10 – Finally extract the frayed pieces of material from the knot they have created in the machine, iron, and begin cutting. Realize that my piece has shrunk beyond the measurements that I needed. Decide it will be fine and proceed with cutting a square that is 2 inches shorter on every side than called for.
  • 10:30 – Sew the first side of my napkin. Rejoice.
  • 10:45 – Learn how to use the seam ripper. Having not read directions carefully enough, I hang head in shame.
  • 11:30 – Tiny munchkin napkin is complete. Sean has returned home. Megan busy skipping through apartment waving napkin in victory and shoving napkin in husband’s face – ‘look what I made, look what I made!

Unfortunately, I was much too busy with all of my craftiness to take any pictures. Sorry for all this text. Hopefully when the munchkin set is complete, I will snap a few and show off my tiny handiwork.  All in all, I would consider my first foray into sewing a success. I am definitely keeping it real – it wasn’t my smoothest performance, but at the end of the day I had lots of fun, am on my way to learning a new skill, and have something I made to show for it!

If anyone knows of a small child in need of one navy blue linen napkin, size: munchkin, please inquire.

6 thoughts on “Little Munchkin

  1. Kelly aka Klizzle

    Meggo– this was a great study break. I agree with the other commentors that I was laughing so hard! Mostly because I could hear you saying all of those things and see you dancing around (and falling hahhahaa). can’t wait to see the pics 🙂

    Reply
  2. Courtney

    So excited for you! (even if it is a little slow going at first….) And look at it this way- at least you know the difference between woven and knit- you’re totally ahead of the game!

    Reply
  3. Dan

    That is hilarious! Sorry I didn’t get it first hand with al the running around Sunday night when you could join us. Thanks again for all the help!

    Reply

Something you said...

