Homemade Ice Cream

Despite my deep love of ice cream, one of the few gadgets I did not add to our wedding registry was an ice cream maker. Imagine my delight when I discovered a recipe for homemade ice cream (without an ice cream maker)!! I did a little dance just thinking about it!

The original recipe for “Magic Vanilla Ice Cream” is from Cook’s Country Magazine, which by the way, seems like such a fun magazine that I think I might have to get my hands on a copy and take a look! Anyways, Darby, of ‘Fly Through Our Window,’ came up with some great additions to the original vanilla recipe (chocolate and mocha) which you can check out by visiting her lovely blog. A site I frequent often, to say the least!

The other day, I decided that my recent (and excessive) berry purchase was the perfect opportunity to give it a whirl, and I mixed Darby’s recipe with the original and made 2 quarts: white chocolate raspberry and mocha.

Since I didn’t change the recipe enough to claim it as my own, please visit this link for the full recipe (scroll down to find the how-to).

To make white chocolate raspberry: Melt 2oz. Ghiradelli white chocolate chips with the sweetened condensed milk for about 30 sec. in the microwave. Let cool and mix with the other ingredients. Smash up fresh or frozen raspberries and mix in. (Once the ice cream is frozen, please feel free to add more berries on top…just an idea I had…simply hypothetical of course…)

To make mocha: Melt 2oz. milk chocolate chips with the sweetened condensed milk and mix with other ingredients. Add instant coffee as in Darby’s recipe.

Also, please make sure that you get heavy cream all over your kitchen when you mix it.

It’s just more fun that way.

For those with an ice cream maker, please visit this other fun blog.

Please excuse me while I pay a visit to my freezer.

Something you said...

